Your chance to win a Nikon Z 50 Camera Kit!

What makes a professional Photographer

macc1 7 6 United Kingdom
1 May 2013 8:14AM
I was recently asked to quote a price to do a wedding photoshoot for a couple that I have known for over 10 years, I duly quoted the couple and they seem to accept my quote, But last week the sister of the bride phoned me to say that she thought the price was a bit over the top as I was not a professional photographer and I had not got any qualifications, suffice to say I have my own photography business and website and have been trading for over a year now and some of my shots are on my profile.

I asked the sister what qualifications would a photographer need to be a professional, Her answer was training and certifacates to say I can shoot proper pictures, I laughed at this comment especially as I had completed 2 x 2 week training courses. The upshot was they turned down my quote because the seemed to thing I was a not a professional photographer.

My question is what makes a professional photographer, I have spoken to numerous photographers that I have known for years and who have been taking photos for over 20 years and they all said the same thing .... this was just an excuse not to use you because they thought you were too expensive.

What do other members here think ??

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Big Bri 19 16.6k United Kingdom
1 May 2013 8:30AM
I think she's confusing the question "are you a professional photographer?" with "are you a good photographer?". The two are not necessarily the same.
I know plenty of people who take fantastic photos, but don't make a living at it, so would not be described as "professional", and I've also seen plenty of examples of "professional" photographers producing rubbish.

Unfortunately, there are some people for whom reasoned argument is never possible, and you just need to move on.
Buchephalus 11 30
1 May 2013 8:39AM