Save 69% on inPixio Photo Studio 11 Ultimate (discount applied at checkout)

What to buy?

AtterKing 2 8 United Kingdom
6 Oct 2018 12:31PM
Hi

I'm looking to buy a DSLR over the coming days. But after extensive research I'm torn between decisions and am battling the best way forward in my head. Probably down to over-thinking, but that's just me.

My background is in IT support and being a general "gadget lover" I tend to go for the newest devices with all the bells and whistles. But again, that's just me.

I first introduced myself to photography back in 2010 and as it was my first steps, I purchased a Nikon D5000 with kit lens. It gave me something to play with and learn from. A year later I found myself drawn to off camera flash photography and upgraded to a Nikon D7000 with a 50mm f1.8 and a couple of speedlights (SB600 and SB900). Again a bit of a learning curve over the next year but I didn't have much time to devote. So in 2012, I decided to sell all my gear.

Over the next 6 years photography laid dormant in my mind, but found myself enjoying offering advice to friends and family whom were embarking on their first steps into the subject. Until a few weeks ago, where the kindling was well and truly ignited and the urge to get back into it was overwhelming. I have a small budget (I say small because we all know this is a never-ending money pit) and more importantly, more time to get out there with it (previously my weekends were not available).

Over the past week or two I've been glued to YouTube, reintroducing myself to old channels I used to follow along with real life reviews of the current tech.

I've identified the Sony A7 III as the main contender, but with the soon to be released Nikon Z6 and Canon EOS R as other mirrorless contenders.