Up To 50% Off Regatta Clothing + An Extra 10% Discount With Code: MSSEXTRA10

Where to learn?

curlyfilm 16 139
24 Jul 2016 9:41PM
I like printing, its what taking photos are for, they look so much better on paper!

I use a Canon pro-10, i calibrate using a Colourmunki, also i calibrate the Various papers too, My results are good! Well i think!

Anyway where do you learn more? Most of what i do is self taught, through trial and error, i find there is limited Info out there? Where can i find more? Like distant courses or books?

Thanks in advance!
StrayCat 17 19.1k 3 Canada
24 Jul 2016 9:53PM
Youtube!
4k78l 4 278 1 New Caledonia
24 Jul 2016 10:10PM
What is your goal in printing the photos yourself, except the savings? Do you want to learn more about printing itself, or how to produce the best image file for printing - both?
For me it seems like you're looking for a good and calibrated screen, which is mandatory for consistent print quality, and it gives you confidence before you choose to print. If this is the case, buy the best panel(I recommend at least IPS) you can afford and choose a screen with a matt finish surface. High gloss finish surface, like MAC use, is a cheap way to make things look "better". It's just an illusion though, because all colors get over saturated and look unnatural, and you get the disadvantage of too much glare from light. In the beginning when I wanted to print my photos at school, the teacher always wanted to correct my colors of my final image file which I had done at home. They never printed out the way I wanted. When I told him to just print directly, they did turn out the way I wanted. I don't understand how such a brand can sell so well to photographers, graphic designers and so on which rely on their output as a living.