Why I am still with EPzN.....

polly470 10 25 8 United Kingdom
26 May 2010 12:06PM
There has been a huge amount of heated activity about the possible new voting system, and changes to the approach to the site - here, for anyone who is remotely interested in an ordinary member opinion, is why I am still here...

I am a relative newbie to DSLR, second year now...I first found the site on Google, and desperately wanted constructive crits on my photos. So I started off by asking for critique only.
I did not get ONE comment or crit, helpful or otherwise for going on for 8 weeks...I thought that this meant that my photos were just too amateur ( Maybe they were...however, what is the point of offering stuff up if you get no feedback! ) I then decided to just put my photos up for votes, and if that got no response just look for another site. I genuinely wanted help and the site advertised itself as the friendliest on the internet for both amateur and professionals..
I started to get comments, from people who didn't know me from Adam, so forget cliques etc at this point....I started to get useful feedback, and I personally began to enjoy myself.
I hope I am not stupid or not aware of the difference when something is just a snap to share, or a photo that has been thought about and improved on from the last one and from the feedback it entailed. I asked people to please feel free to do mods of my photos, which helped immensely with seeing alternate views, and I have to make a point of thanking Willie ( Banehawi ) who I understand is part of the critique team, for his mods , crits and always fair help for improvements -
.......all of this was NOT ON THE CRITIQUE SITE...this is an important point and still is !