Views 47 Unique 35
Vote 18
Award Shortlist   

Durisdeer Church

By TrotterFechan
The first recorded minister at Durisdeer is John de Cader in 1394, and the original parish church was probably dedicated to St. Mary. It was demolished to make way for the present-day Georgian church, a category A listed building in the village, that also serves Drumlanrig Castle, the 17th-century home of the Duke of Queensberry. Durisdeer Church was rebuilt by the third Duke in the 1720s, to designs by James Smith. Adjoining the church is the slightly earlier Queensberry Aisle, burial place of the dukes, also by Smith, with a large marble monument to the second Duke (1662-1711) and Mary, his duchess, carved by Jan van Nost. The former manse nearby is now a private dwelling.....A marked feature of the church complex are the ducal apartments, which were later used as the parish school at the behest of the Duke. These apartments were renovated and in 1968 were opened again for church use. Hewison records that the stone used to build the new church came from the demolished Durisdeer Castle, "..famous in the Wars of Independence." The masons were the same men who built Drumlanrig Castle.....The clock in the church tower was a gift from the Buccleuch Estates to mark the millennium and the tercentenary of Durisdeer Church.

Tags: Church Gravestones Black and white Headstone Cemetary Durisdeer black & white

Voters: mike9005, BillRookery, adagio and 15 more

Try Kindle Unlimited For 3-Months For Just 99p!


17 Mar 2019 3:35PM
A well composed and taken image well suited to mono presentation, James.
An interesting variety of roof architecture.


Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.